Loving the life you live, and living the life you love!

Very rarely in life does one encounter a situation that places a significant impact in such a way that which forevermore shall strengthen our innermost nature and integrate the fragmented aspects of ourselves. This may very well come into being although not on a frequent basis, but we will, however at one point, be hit in the face by unfamiliar life’s challenge that requires careful confronting. The manner that we maneuver and approach every challenge may either produce a new layer of character or it may take us to the opposite direction and dread it.

I assume that everyone has heard the old adage that goes something like this:


“The beginning of love is to let those we love be just themselves, and not twist them with our own image – otherwise, we love only the reflection of ourselves we find in them.”

Partly based on this compelling statement, I will not change my religion to marry someone I love. A dear friend of mine articulated it so well, quote, One could not possibly expect a future spouse to change their preferences, beliefs, character just to please their partner. So true. People just need to be themselves and respect each other’s differences, endquote.

But if the question is reversed in such a way like this one: “Will I marry someone who has a different religion than I am?” Absolutely! Not to trivialize it, being Catholic is very important to me; this is my faith, and everything in it and what it truly stands for is the driving force of who I am, but it doesn’t limit me or diminish my ability to bear exponential fruits for the sake of His kingdom as long as my actions are in loving conformity with the Church, and don’t in any way degrade my self-worth, dignity and value as a human being based on the standards set by our Creator. Of course it will be icing on the cake if we could journey together in this regard with mutual respect, love and admiration for each other’s individualism and the legacy that we adopt that shape the type of person that we have become. To choose to follow someone else’s faith is very personal and distinct. It takes God’s grace to be more receptive and open-minded to see things for what they really are, openness to explore rational possibilities, courage to humbly accept the path where God is leading us no matter how inconvenient it may seem, and embark on another dimension in a rather unconventional way, and consider options we never knew existed that are based on truths and not on relativistic ideals. Above all, we have to desire it; we must allow ourselves to create an avenue that would intensify that hunger for truth and authenticity, keep the fire burning within and take revel in it.

Comments on: "~Will You Change Your Religion To Marry Someone You Love? ~" (2)

  1. You said it right, my dear! I remember that I felt a bit uneasy with the way Shamsey gave her answer to that famous question. Now I got what I wanted to hear! Cheers to you, Tere!

  2. Thanks, Ate Bilyn. I had the same reaction. Her response did not resonate with me, and obviously not with the judges either. I had to really dig deeper and comprehend her answer over and over again to figure out what she was trying to convey, but I guess, her answer was not crytal clear; she wanted to transmit the message that she will not change her religion for the sake of love, but instead of stating the obvious, her attempt to be forthright and straighforward was clouded by her subtle lack of thouroughness and foresight. In general, I like the gist of her answer, although, not delivered so eloquenly—that her faith in God is above everything. That’s good enough for me. Cheers, Momsy!

Leave a Reply

