Loving the life you live, and living the life you love!

~ A Lament of Lost America? ~

Strikingly beautiful song by Iron and Wine. The song is open to one’s own interpretation and has multiple meanings (just like every other), but one of them is possibly the ailing America theory :(. When I listen to music I interpret it to mean something to me. A kind of overpowering melody of glee and gloom without challenging or compromising its sense of anticipation, rhythmically organized that has meaning in and of itself, not to mention a good ear-pleasing acoustic guitar piece to play as well… an exceptionally good piece of creative work.

Simply BRILLIANT and AWESOME!


I was a quick wet boy
Diving too deep for coins
All of your street light eyes
Wide on my plastic toys
And when the cops closed the fair
I cut my long baby hair
Stole me a dog-eared map
And called for you everywhere

Have I found you?
Flightless bird, jealous, weeping
Or lost you?
American mouth
Big pill looming

Now I’m a fat house cat
Nursing my sore blunt tongue
Watching the warm poison rats
Curl through the wide fence cracks
Pissing on magazine photos
Those fishing lures thrown in the cold and clean
Blood of Christ mountain stream

Have I found you?
Flightless bird, grounded, bleeding
Or lost you?
American mouth
Big pill stuck going down

Leave a Reply

